The choice is yours

Our website uses cookies. Some are essential for the website to operate, and others are for enhancing site navigation, analytics, or personalised marketing purposes.

We respect your privacy, so you can choose to ‘accept’ or ‘deny’ non-essential cookies, or you can customise your preferences here. View our cookie policy for more information.

Back to Blog

Five Stages of Grief

January 25, 2012
Kate's Club
Five Stages of Grief
Get the latest in your inbox.
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

When I was a freshman in high school in the fall of 1992, I was in an honors seminar class that explored a number of topics.

I was your typical high school freshman, concerned way more with baseball than my coursework, and I still wish today I had paid more attention to my great teacher, Stan Whittle.

One of these topics was the work of Elisabeth Kubler-Ross.

In 1969, Kubler-Ross first published her grief cycle. In 1996, I began to understand her work after my dad’s suicide.

Whether you’ve experienced a loss or not, knowing Kubler-Ross’ work will help you understand and empathize with the cycle that those experiencing a loss wind their way through in the wake of the death of a loved one.

The stages of Kubler-Ross’ grief cycle include: Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Acceptance.

She framed her work as a model rather than a process because she believed that while a process can be fixed and rigid, a model tends to be more of a framework or a guide.

Some people don’t experience some of the stages. Some experience some of the stages multiple times.

Kubler-Ross calls transition between her stages “more of an ebb or flow, rather than a progression.”

You can read the full model at, and it’s a fascinating read as it’s built for each grieving individual to find his or her personal path as they heal.

To begin to heal, I believe we must seek to understand our grief, and the work of Elisabeth Kubler-Ross helped me on my journey. I hope she can help you or someone you love as well.

Would you like to share your story? Please contact us at [email protected]

Related Posts

Awards ceremony to celebrate Glynn County children who are grieving

Watch Their Story

2024 Mourning Glory Gala Co-Chairs on Creating a Place for Grievers to Belong

Watch Their Story

Valentine’s Day: Tips for widows, widowers, and grieving people facing the day of love without yours

Watch Their Story
See All Posts